east texas backwoods churches

For many years, I drove to East Texas to document backwoods churches at a time when they were disappearing rapidly. A few  were still in use. I have enough pictures to make a good book, and I’m going through them now with that in mind. I’ll post a few of these pictures occasionally. Their sense of space, the architecture and simple craftsmanship still speak strongly to me. Click on galeria de vistas to see more photographs.

Sharp’s Chapel, west of Newton, Texas

Leave a Reply

